Contact Us
Danbury Daily Voice serves Danbury, CT
Return to your home site


Danbury Daily Voice serves Danbury, CT

Nearby Towns


Unopposed Boughton Leads Republicans To Majority On Danbury City Council

Mayor Mark Boughton speaks Tuesday night to fellow Republicans after he was elected to his eighth term in Danbury. Photo Credit: Sandra Diamond Fox
Irving Fox was elected to the Danbury City Council, one of many Republican winners on Tuesday. Photo Credit: Sandra Diamond Fox

DANBURY, Conn. — Mark Boughton was elected to his record-setting eighth term as mayor of Danbury on Tuesday night.

It came as no surprise: The popular city leader, known as Mayor Mark to his thousands of Twitter followers, ran unopposed.

Many other city Republicans joined him in celebrating election victories Tuesday night. All seven at-large seats on the City Council were captured by Republicans. The GOP also won both seats in four of the city's seven districts.

The makeup of the City Council will be 15 Republicans and six Democrats.

The winners on Tuesday in Danbury include:

Mayor: Mark D. Boughton, Republican Party/Independent Party

Treasurer: Daniel P. Jowdy, Republican Party/Independent Party

Councilmen, Ward One : John D. Priola, Republican Party/Independent Party and Irving Matthew Fox, Republican Party/Independent Party

Councilmen, Ward Two : Vinny DiGilio, Republican Party/Independent Party and Elmer Palma, Republican Party/Independent Party

Councilmen, Ward Three : Christopher J. Arconti, Republican Party/Independent Party and Joe Cavo, Republican Party/Independent Party

Councilmen, Ward Four :John Esposito III, Democratic Party and Thomas J. Saadi, Democratic Party

Councilmen, Ward Five : Frederick L. Visconti, Democratic Party and Duane E. Perkins, Democratic Party

Councilmen, Ward Six : Paul T. Rotello, Democratic Party/Working Families Party and Benjamin Chianese, Democratic Party/Working Families Party

Councilmen, Ward Seven : Joseph L. Scozzolava/Republican Party/Independent Party; and Nancy M. Cammisa/Republican Party/Independent Party

Councilmen-at-Large :

  • Christina M. Chieffalo, Republican Party/Independent Party;
  • Jack Knapp, Republican Party/Independent Party;
  • Philip D. Curran, Republican Party/Independent Party;
  • Andrew R. Wetmore, Republican Party/Independent Party;
  • Gregg W. Seabury, Republican Party/Independent Party;
  • Michael J. Esposito, Republican Party/Independent Party;
  • Warren M. Levy, Republican Party/Independent Party

Board of Education : Holly K. Robinson, Democratic Party; Frederick J. Karrat, Democratic Party; Gladys B. Cooper, Democratic Party; Richard J. Hawley, Republican Party/Independent Party; David J. Metrena, Republican Party/Independent Party; Patrick G. Johnston, Republican Party/Independent Party

Town Clerk: Janice R. Giegler, Republican Party/Independent Party

Zoning Commission:

  • Richard P. Jowdy, Democratic Party;
  • James M. Kelly, Democratic Party;
  • Theodore J. Haddad Jr., Democratic Party;
  • Robert W. Laber/Republican Party, Independent Party;
  • Sally M. Estefan/Republican Party/Independent Party;
  • Milan David/Republican Party/Independent Party;
  • Jeffrey R. Giegler/Republican Party/Independent Party;
  • Alexander Rodriguez/Republican Party/Independent Party;
  • Annette M. Zatkovich/Republican Party/Independent Party

Zoning Commission Alternates:

  • Candace V. Fay/Democratic Party
  • Mary M. Cronin/Republican Party/Independent Party
  • John T. Herlihy Jr./Republican Party/Independent Party


  • Michael J. Halas/Republican Party/Independent Party
  • Louise P. McMahon/Republican Party/Independent Party
  • Michael Safranek/Republican Party/Independent Party
Results of the election are not final until certified by the secretary of the state.

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Danbury Daily Voice!

Get the news you need to know on the go.

Welcome to

Danbury Daily Voice!

Hi! You've read our articles so we know you like our reporting. To keep reading please join our mailing list.

Get important news about your town as it happens.